THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF BROOKLINE

OFFICE OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEE BROOKLINE, MASSACHUSETTS

Town Hall, 5th Floor, 333 Washington Street

Brookline, MA 02445 Telephone: 617-730-2430 Fax: 617-730-2601 www.brookline.k12.ma.us



Julie Schreiner-Oldham, Chair Suzanne Federspiel, Vice Chair Sharon Abramowitz Helen Charlupski Susan Wolf Ditkoff Michael Glover Jennifer Monopoli David A. Pearlman Barbara Scotto

June 27, 2019

Mr. Fred Lebow, Chair, Brookline Naming Committee c/o Town Clerk Pat Ward Brookline Town Hall Brookline, MA 02445

Dear Mr. Lebow:

On June 19, 2019 the Brookline School Committee voted (7 in favor, 0 opposed, and 1 abstention) to make the following recommendation to the Brookline Naming Committee: that the **Florida Ruffin Ridley School** become the permanent name of the Coolidge Corner School. The School Committee's vote is the result of tremendous work and collaboration by many community members over the last ten months. In particular, the students of Coolidge Corner School and the *Bee-lievers of Change* student nomination committee helped lead the community through an inclusive process that identified 15 semi-finalist and then four finalist names.

I have attached a fact sheet on Florida Ruffin Ridley. Additional information, including a description of the process to date, can be found on the Public Schools of Brookline Website: https://www.brookline.k12.ma.us/renameccs

School Committee member David A. Pearlman has offered to serve as liaison to the Naming Committee during the upcoming process. Mr. Pearlman can be reached at 617-894-6893 or by email: david_pearlman@psbma.org.

Thank you in advance for your consideration of this recommendation.

Best regards,

Julie Schreiner-Oldham, Chair Brookline School Committee

Cc:

David A. Pearlman, School Committee Member Justin Casanova-Davis, Assistant Town Administrator

Juie & Schwiner-O Whan